Have we got the final line-up yet? We do! After a radio-based semi final from which the public voted through songs from these nine, and after Danish broadcaster DR revealed the five pre-qualified entries yesterday, we have our final ten.
Why were some songs pre-qualified? Well we had assumed that this would be down to the songs perhaps being better. But after listening to the pre-qualified songs, reader, we have no idea why DR deemed them worthy of automatic qualification. Some of them are, quite frankly, unlistenable.
Yikes! But that matters not (although actually, it’s a shame that SamSara’s ‘For You’ was denied a place in the final in place of 80% of the pre-qualified songs). What matters is that we have our final ten songs now. And in the spirit of the competition they’ve entered themselves into, let’s rank them from best to worst!
Awesome. And then when is the actual final? These ten songs will be competing in Denmark’s Melodi Grand Prix 2020, on March 7th. And the winner will go on to represent Denmark at the Eurovision Song Contest in May.
Let’s go! Let’s go;

You can find the top six songs (and good ol’ ‘For You’ by SamSara) on our Best New Pop playlist.

01: Ben & Tan – ‘Yes’
(Emil Adler Lei, Jimmy Jansson, Linnea Deb)
Or to be more precise, YES! Iceland have Of Monsters and Men, Sweden have Smith & Thell, and now Denmark have Ben & Tan for the clap-happy, foot-stomping, HEY-chanting bops. We love this. How could you not? Intrusively catchy (that’s a positive, btw), it gets the job done (and then some) in its alloted three minutes – which is precisely what Eurovision voters require.

02: Kenny Duerlund – ‘Forget It All’
(Henrik Tala, Mila Falls, Patrik Jean, Kenny Duerlund)
An unapologetically punchy tune that blends a bit of both trip-hop and soul to its sturdy pop frame. It’s big enough to easily captivate an entire arena in Copenhagen in March. And if he can pull off live that same vocal he’s managed in the recording, it could deservedly go all the way to an arena in Rotterdam in May.

03: Sander Sanchez – ‘Screens’
(Jonas Thander, Liam Craig, Christopher Wortley)
This one has got it all – the kind of song that sounds like it fits onto the radio playlists of today, and that also sounds like it belongs on the Eurovision stage, too. It’s got just the right amount of bang for both, and it’ll be interesting to see if it goes the whole way and manages both, too.

04: Jasmin Rose feat. RoxorLoops – ‘Human’
(Lise Cabble, Grace Risch, Gavin Jones, Erik Smaaland)
An unflinchingly camp number that piles the Nordic melodies onto some Eastern influences in its production. It makes for an intriguing listen, but one that we took to straight away. And we could well see a lot of Europe responding to it in the same way. Features a key change – which, sorry, it’s details like this that are still very important to us in the context of a Eurovision pre-selection.

05: Jamie Talbot – ‘Bye Bye Heaven’
(Tom Oehler, Hampus Eurenius, Aron Blom)
A modern take on classic soul, backed with some big beats and a confident vocal, both of which belie the otherwise soothingly laidback tone to the song. Probably the most contemporary of the ten songs on offer in this final, sounding like it could well be a big hit outside of the context of this contest.

06: Maja og De Sarte Sjæle – ‘Den Eneste Goth i Vejle
(Maja og De Sarte Sjæle)
An adorably kitsch indie song that sounds like it was plucked straight out of the ’90s. It also sounds like it strayed somewhat on its journey somewhere and perhaps ended up in Melodi Grand Prix by accident. However, it’s going to stand out a lot on the night, and if the live performance delivers the bags of charm that the recording does, then it could be a dark horse to take to win.

07: Emil – ‘Ville Ønske Jeg Havde Kendt Dig’
(Esben Svane, Emil Vestergaard Klausen, Gavyn Matthew Bailey, Tim Schou)
A cheery, perfectly pleasant number that we have heard elsewhere a hundred times before and could quite happily never hear again.

08: Sys Bjerre – ‘Honestly’
(Sys Bjerre, Lasse Lyngbo)
A horribly twee effort about climate change that relies upon a catalogue of cliches thrown together in no discernible order to serve as its lyrics. It’s heart is in the right place, obviously, but the whole thing is at best cringeworthy, and at worst vomit-inducing. Bleurgh.

09: Benjamin Kissi – ‘Faith’
(Benjamin Kissi, Gisli Gislason, Frederik Tao Nordsøe Schjoldan)
A fabulous production let down my some atrocious lyrics and backing vocals that sounded so jarringly off-key, we had to turn it off halfway through.

10: Isam B – ‘Bølger’
(Morten Woods, Babak Vakili, Troels Kampmann Kjær)
We’ve always thought that Danish was quite a beautiful language. Then we heard Isam B make his way through ‘Bølger’;

Close Menu